Save for later

Good Diabetes Care in School Award

Our Good Diabetes Care in School Award is now closed for this academic year. The award will re-open in October 2019.

Good%20Diabetes%20Care%20in%20School_lockup_3.pngThis prestigious award, the only such honour that Diabetes UK offers, is a fantastic way to demonstrate the great care provided to children with diabetes in school. 

We celebrate the schools that work with parents and healthcare professionals to ensure children with diabetes have as easy an experience at school as possible. 

Whether you’re a parent, care, member of school staff of healthcare professional, you can nominate a school.

It only takes a few minutes to nominate. If your school is successful they can join over 200 other schools that have been awarded this honour in the last two years. We're delighted to add the list of successful schools for 2019 towards the bottom of the page.

Remember by taking part, your school be recognised as setting a great standard of care. They will also get:

  • A beautiful trophy, which is valid for two years.
  • Use of the Good Diabetes Care in School Award logo on all your print and digital stationery.
  • Feature on the Diabetes UK Honour Wall.
  • An opportunity for positive local media attention about your school’s achievements.
  • Ongoing support from us to help with best practice and updated methods of care.

What happens after I've made a nomination?

Once the nomination phase closes, we will contact the school informing them of their nomination. We'll then invite them to apply for the award.

We won't be collecting personal data, names or details of any children who attend the school.

However, we will ask you to provide data about the school. We'll only use this data for the purposes of the award

Good schools award winners

Expand all

Round 1 successful schools - January 2019

Schools Location
Alves Primary Elgin
Brampton Village Primary School Huntingdon
Coryton Primary School Cardiff
Hasland Junior School Chesterfield
Horndean Church of England Junior School  Waterlooville 
Longfield Academy Darlington
Pil Primary School Bridgend
Richard Landler School Truro
St Alban's RC Primary School Birmingham
St Augustine's CE Primary School Manchester
St James Catholic School Cheadle
St Trea's Primary School Magherafelt
Stockport Academy Stockport
Turing House School Teddington
Willingham Primary School Willingham
Woodfield Primary School Wigan
Ysgol y Wern Cardiff

Round 2 successful schools - June 2019

Schools Location
Ambler Primary School London
Barton Court Canterbury
Cage Green Primary School Tonbridge
Carrowdore Primary Newtonards
Fakenham Academy Norfolk Fakenham
Gillibrand Primary School Chorley
Great Clacton CofE Junior school Clacton on Sea
Hartsfield JMI School Baldock
Haworth Primary School Keighley
Home Farm Primary School Bradford
Houston Primary School Johnstone
King Edward Primary Mansfield
Knowepark Primary School Selkirk
Le Cateau Community Primary School  Catterick Garrison
Lyons Hall Primary Braintree
Magna Primary School Poole
Marsden Primary School Sunderland
Normanton Junior Academy Normanton
Ormiston Sandwell Community Academy  Oldbury
Peebles High School Peebles
Ralph Thoresby School Leeds
St Georges C of E Foundation School Broadstairs
St John with St Michael CE Primary Rochdale
St Luke's C.E. Primary School Kingston upon Thames
St Peters Catholic Primary School Billericay
St. James CE Primary Academy Bournemouth
St. Stephen's Junior School Canterbury
Stonebow Primary School Loughborough
The Thetford Academy Thetford
Thornhill Community Academy Dewsbury
Wellsway Bristol
Weston Primary School Weston
William Harding School Aylesbury
Wyburns Primary School Rayleigh

Round 3 successful schools - September 2019

School Location
Abacus Primary School  Wickford
Baden Powell Primary  Cardiff
Beckett Primary School Derby
Bernard Gilpin Primary School Sunderland 
Birchington CE Primary School Birchington
Burlington Infant School Bridlington
Freshfield Primary School Liverpool
Glen Park Primary School Plymouth
Great Wakering Primary Academy Southend-on-Sea
Hallbrook Primary School Leicester
Hawkinge Primary School Hawkinge
Leedon Lower School Leighton Buzzard
Locking Primary School - ELAN Weston-super-Mare
Marden High School North Shields
Old Hall Junior School Chesterfield
Otley All Saints CE School Leeds
Primrose Hill Primary School Salford
Quainton Hall School  Harrow
Rathmore Primary School Bangor
Rice Lane Primary School Liverpool
Robert Bloomfield Academy Shefford
Robert Gordon's College Aberdeen
Shaldon Primary  Teignmouth 
St John Ogilvie Primary School  Paisley
St Philip's CE Primary School  Cambridge
St Mary's Limavady  Limavady 
Stratford Upon Avon Primary School Stratford Upon Avon
Sundorne Infant School and Nursery Shrewsbury
Talbot Heath School Bournemouth
Wilmslow High School Wilmslow




Brand Icons/Telephone check - FontAwesome icons/tick icons/uk