Savefor later Page saved! You can go back to this later in your Diabetes and Me Close

NHS England announces new CCG Improvement and Assessment Framework

20 April 2016

NHS England are introducing a new CCG Improvement and Assessment Framework for 2016/17. The framework is designed to focus on improvement, supporting CCGs to transform care. CCGs will receive a rating for performance on a number of different indicators, including indicators based on clinical priority areas. Local health systems and communities will then be able to assess their own progress, as ratings will be published online.

The framework will include indicators based on four areas:

  • Better health: how the CCG is contributing to improving the health of its population
  • Better care: focussing on care redesign, performance of constitutional standards, and outcomes, including in important clinical areas
  • Sustainability: focussing on financial sustainability
  • Leadership: assessing the quality of the CCG’s leadership, planning, partnership working and governance.

Diabetes is one of six. As a clinical priority area, there will be two metrics to determine the performance of CCGs in relation to. These will be:

  • Diabetes patients that have achieved all the NICE-recommended treatment targets: Three (HbA1c, cholesterol and blood pressure) for adults and one (HbA1c) for children
  • People with diabetes diagnosed less than a year who attend a structured education course

Assessments in the clinical priority areas will be overseen by independent advisory groups. Chris Askew, Chief Executive of Diabetes UK, will chair the group for diabetes.

The framework has been developed with input from many different groups: NHS Clinical Commissioners, CCGs, patient groups and charities.

Find out more about theCCG Improvement and Assessment Framework.

Back to Top
Brand Icons/Telephonecheck - FontAwesomeicons/tickicons/uk