Savefor later Page saved! You can go back to this later in your Diabetes and Me Close

Rowan Hillson insulin safety award winners 2015

20 April 2016

Dr Gerry Rayman, Dr Rajesh Rajendran, Christopher Kelly, Sarah Barker, Rachael Round, Anne Scott and the DICE Team at The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust were awarded The Rowan Hillson Insulin Safety Award this year for the best initiative in avoiding inpatient hypoglycaemia.

The team carried out a single centre study in a 550-bedded secondary care hospital designed to look at the effects of implementing the Diabetes Inpatient Care and Education (DICE) programme and a dedicated inpatient diabetes team on inpatient glucometrics, length of stay (LOS)and in-hospital mortality.

The study included adult inpatients with diabetes over the age of 18 across all medical and surgical wards, with a hospital stay longer than a day. This programme was put in place from August 2013. Glucometrics, LOS and in-hospital morality rate were analysed for six months before and six identical calendar months after the start of the programme.

This programme was associated with a substantial reduction in the proportion of hypoglycaemic readings, average LOS and in-hospital mortality, with a slight increase in the proportion of hyperglycaemic readings. 

The runners up were a team at the Royal Cornwall Hospitals, whose 'SIMULATION' initiative aimed to avoid serious untoward incidents, including hypoglycaemia. 

Back to Top
Brand Icons/Telephonecheck - FontAwesomeicons/tickicons/uk