Savefor later Page saved! You can go back to this later in your Diabetes and Me Close

Winners of Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award 2018 Announced

Best Inpatient Educational Programme for Health Care Professionals (Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care)

The winners of this national competition for ‘the best inpatient educational programme for Health Care Professionals’ have been announced

This initiative from the Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care aims to promote excellent practice in the safety of inpatients with diabetes. The submissions were judged against predefined criteria by an independent panel which was chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson.

Out of 7 entries, one winner and two runners up were selected. There will be an awards presentation for the winner and runners up at the ABCD meeting on Thursday 16 May 2019 in Loughborough.

The winning trusts and the lead person who submitted their entries are as follows:


Dr Kath Higgins, Consultant in Diabetes Care, Clinical Lead for Inpatient Diabetes Care, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Download submission (PDF, 370 KB)


Dr Michael Lloyd, Clinical Education Lead Pharmacist, St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Download submission (PDF, 590 KB)


Ruth Miller, Diabetes Nurse Consultant, NHS North West London Collaboration of Clinical Commissioning Groups

Download submission (PDF, 520 KB)

To download the supporting evidence submitted alongside these entries, please visit the ABCD website

For more information, please visit


Back to Top
Brand Icons/Telephonecheck - FontAwesomeicons/tickicons/uk