Savefor later Page saved! You can go back to this later in your Diabetes and Me Close

Winners of Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award 2019 announced

The winners of this national competition for Best Perioperative Pathway for People with Diabetes have been announced. 

This initiative from the Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care aims to promote excellent practice in the safety of inpatients with diabetes. The submissions were judged by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson against predefined criteria.

Out of 12 entries, one winner and one runner up were identified. 

Dr Umesh Dashora, Erwin Castro and Debbie Stanisstreet led this project, and the winning Trusts, and the lead person who submitted their entries are as follows:


Dr David Burckett-St.Laurent, Aneurin Bevan University Health Board

Download submission (PDF, 327KB)


Dr Nicola Leech, The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Download submission (PDF, 310 KB)

You can also download the supporting evidence submitted alongside these entries.

Back to Top
Brand Icons/Telephonecheck - FontAwesomeicons/tickicons/uk