Savefor later Page saved! You can go back to this later in your Diabetes and Me Close

Congratulations to our Inspire Award Nominees

Diabetes Scotland logo

We are delighted to reveal that there are 57 amazing volunteers and groups nominated for Diabetes Scotland Inspire Awards 2020.

Congratulations and thank you to all of our nominees. Volunteers are at the heart of what we do and we simply could not continue our work without your dedication and support.

The nominations are now with an external panel of judges for consideration. We do not yet know when we will announce the winners, but we still hope to have an Inspire Awards ceremony this year.

The nominees are:

Campaigning & Influencing 

  • Andrew Job
  • Emma Nieminen
  • Aileen Hillis
  • Jeff Foot
  • Kirsty Maclennan


  • Colin Rodger and Martin Higgins (Pearl Jam Scotland)
  • Diane Imrie
  • Brian Thomson
  • Angela Simpson
  • Aneta McGregor
  • Team Still Madd
  • Iain 'Windy' Wilson

Local Group and Community

  • West Fife Community Group
  • New Lanarkshire Family Group
  • T1D Ayrshire
  • West Lothian Diabetes Scotland Group
  • Ayrshire Families with Diabetes
  • Forth Valley T1D Families
  • Glasgow Family Group 
  • Tayside Families Group

Reaching Out & Connecting

  • Alistair Smith
  • Marilyn Boland
  • Colin Rattray
  • Julie Catlin
  • Julie McGarry and Kirsty McKinnon
  • Young Fun and Type 1 Team
  • Aileen Hillis
  • Vicki Kitson
  • Lorna Frew

Supporting Diabetes UK

  • Jennifer Watson
  • Ian Aitken
  • Joy Iheobi
  • Rebecca Prinn
  • Type 1 Weekender Scotland Volunteers

Supporting Others

  • James Rodger-Phillips
  • Vicki Kitson
  • Ann Lothian
  • Isobel Macleod
  • Gemma Shilton
  • Lorna Frew
  • Mandy Byers
  • Karen Hamilton
  • Fiona Stewart
  • Dave Curry
  • Bruce Smith
  • Amy Rose Cameron
  • Geraldine Smith
  • Julie Catlin

Young Person's Outstanding Contribution

  • Luke Reid
  • Abby Kerr
  • Alesha Borthwick
  • Sammi Caldwell
  • Harris Catlin
  • Jorja Kerr Muir
  • Emma Stein

The John Ireland Award

  • Dave Duff
  • Aileen Hillis
Back to Top
Brand Icons/Telephonecheck - FontAwesomeicons/tickicons/uk