Daisy's story

Hi! My name is Daisy and I am 11 years old. I was seven when I first got diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes.

I found it really hard at first but now I’m used to it even though I’m still up and down sometimes with my levels. Type 1 Diabetes is not the easiest thing to handle especially if you are like me and love sports. I just remember I have to test myself often to make sure my blood is good.

 

Daisy-2-web-.jpg

 

My main hobby is horse riding and I really enjoy Dressage. I started horse riding when I was 6, and stopped when I was diagnosed at seven, and then picked it back up two and a half years ago, I have been doing Dressage for 18 months now. I am currently Affiliated Novice level out and training Affiliated Elementary level at home. My Instructor is Grand Prix rider Denise Hallion, and I have weekly lessons with her to help me learn.

My goal is to be the best I can possibly be and when I’m older I want to be in The Olympics and I try hard every day I ride. Also at competitions lately I have been winning most of my classes with my pony Saco which makes me really happy. I have already qualified for three Novice Championships this year, I am also a Squad Team Member at BYRDS (British Young Rider Dressage Scheme) for Central Region, and a U21's member (I already have my first sponsor too).

 

Daisy-web-1.jpg

 

The good thing about living with Type 1 Diabetes is that you need to eat well and look after yourself all the time. I have regular health checks with the Diabetes team and they are all very friendly and kind. I also like to do gymnastics at school, which helps my fitness.

If you are looking to get involved with horse riding, talk to your parents and maybe they will let you have a lesson at a stables somewhere close to you. A good place to learn is Pinkmead Farm.  (I learnt to ride there) and it is really friendly. 

Take care of yourselves,

Daisy x

blue-splat blue-star pink-star splat splat splat splat